The Young Magicians Club is a youth initiative of The Magic Circle, the world's premier magical society. Formed in 1996, the mission of the club is to promote the performance of magic by the young people of today (aged between 10 and 18) and encourage them in their chosen art form so that they can grow into the fine magicians of tomorrow.

To do this The Magic Circle uses its vast knowledge and experience to instruct, encourage and entertain the members of The Young Magicians Club.

Written by Chris Wood   
Tuesday, 29 September 2015 13:06

The box office will be opening soon for J-Day 2015.
Remember, it is a convention EXLUSIVE to YMC members.
Date is Sunday 25th October 2015 - stick it in your diary now.

Who's on the bill?

YMC Chairman Kevin Doig is DELIGHTED to announce that JAMIE RAVEN (the real winner of Britain's Got Talent) has agreed (no, indeed WANTS) to be there and has managed to squeeze us in to a hugely busy schedule. Yes - JAMIE RAVEN will be headlining the Gala Show.

After the success of compering the Young Magician of the Year this year, huge success in BBC's "Killer Magic", and starring in West End hit "Impossible" we are thrilled that BEN HART is compering the Gala Show - and will be with us throughout the day including as one of the competition judges.

President of The Magic Circle (and YMC) SCOTT PENROSE will also be with us the whole day and will be sharing many of his magical experiences with us in an EXCLUSIVE TO YMC interview. It is with great pleasure that we announce that regular MAGIC magazine columnist, recently featured in Secrets magazine, and ex-YMC member ANDI GLADWIN is lecturing for us in the afternoon. We are overjoyed that star ventriloquist and fourth place Britain's Got Talent finalist STEVE HEWLETT will be appearing in the Gala Show. You will be as pleased as we are that YMC favourite, Alakazam vlog star and extraordinary originator of some great effects, DAVE LOOSLEY is doing the early morning mini-lecturette. Wow! What a line-up!

The stage competitors:
• Luke Oseland, Callum McClure, Theo Mellor, Billy Roche Menezes, Oliver Paice, and Fletcher Ransberry
and close-up competitors:
• Stephen Friend,  Joshua Hennes, Dean Leavy, Callum McClure, Joe Oyelade and Amos Wollen
complete this great line-up.

As well as regular dealer (and Komedy Kup sponsor) KAYMAR, in our dealer hall this year we again have ALAKAZAM and also, for the first time, CARD COLLECTION who I know you will love.

This fantastic day is available only to YMC members who should watch out for the email opening registration. Non-members can join now and once their membership is accepted can apply to come to J-Day 2015.  Click on the Apply For Membership button on the let of this screen to join.  It is going to be a great day.

Written by Chris Wood   
Monday, 21 September 2015 07:23

All competitors in Saturday's elimination heats for this year's J-Day competitions have been emailed the results already.  We are both thrilled and sad to be announcing those results. Sad because we know that those who did not get through are going to be upset but thrilled because of the really good acts who did get through.  


There was a large number of acts that entered this year (and some even had to be turned away!) so those who did not get through to the finals on J-Day have really no reason at all to be downhearted.  Disappointed, of course, but no-one shamed themselves.  



The successful six acts through to the final (in the order they performed) are:

•       Callum McClure

•       Dean Leavy

•       Amos Wollen

•       Stephen Friend

•       Joe Oyelade

•       Joshua Hennes

Congratulations to you all – and sincere commiserations to the others, most of whom were very close.


The successful six acts through to the final (in the order they performed) are:

•       Theo Mellor

•       Oliver Paice

•       Luke Oseland

•       Fletcher Ransberry

•       Billy Roche Menezes

•       Callum McClure

Congratulations to you all – and sincere commiserations to the others, most of whom were very close.

It looks like we are in for a strong competition.

Once again, huge congratulations to the finalists.

Written by Chris Wood   
Wednesday, 01 April 2015 08:45

What a great Young Magician of the Year 2015 Competition on Sunday 29th March! Six members of YMC competing - all deserving huge congratulations. Well done to winner Leah Devine and joint second place winners Callum McClure and David Hardman who were both brilliant. No one let themselves down. A really good competition - and well compered by ex-YMC star Ben Hart.